Select your language

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands, one of the seven union territories of India, are a group of islands at the juncture of the Bay of Bengal and Andaman Sea. It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands, separated by the 10°N parallel, with the Andamans to the north of this latitude, and the Nicobars to the south (or by 179 km). There are 572 islands in the territory having an area of 8,249 km2. Of these, about 38 are permanently inhabited. The territory's capital is the city of Port Blair.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands are developing into a major tourism hub with exotic-looking beaches and pristine islands having equally exotic names, wonderful opportunities for adventure sports like snorkelling and sea-walking.

In the capital city
In tides and in straits
Underwater over a rock
Island of permitted tourism
The tops of the seas
12 years into the past
Clean water
Who is looking will always find
Long road to home

Let's go!


Giant Trevally in Andamans (by dr. Amit Kakar)
Andaman Island Diving (by dr. Amit Kakar)

© 2023 Alpproject Club